Categories
Feminism

Nüshu, women’s secret language

Until 2004, in the Chinese district of Jiangyong, a rather peculiar writing system existed. The nüshu – that is its name – had indeed a particularity: it was learned and used only by women in this area of the north-west of Hong Kong. Letters of friendship, at the time of the marriage… the multiple uses […]

Categories
Biodiversity

Catfish non grata

It is huge, a little scary and more and more present in French rivers. Catfish, a freshwater fish native to Asia that can reach 2.5 meters in length, was introduced to France in the 1960s. Since then, researchers and fishermen/fisherwomen have been questioning its integration.An opportunistic species, capable of eating salmon like pigeons, the catfish […]

Categories
Abus sexuels Feminism

The forum l’Originale faces its old demons

It is a forum intimately linked with the universe of YouTube and disappeared in 2018. L’Originale was founded by Thomas Hercouët, creator of the pop culture show Les Nuits originales, in 2014. He brought together hundreds of fans of the show, who discussed social issues ranging from anti-racism to feminism and depression.As links were forged, […]

Categories
Agriculture Mobilities Rurality

At Paul’s farm, no more every one for himself

They had to remain active during containment, but the mission was no small task. Farmers continued to work under difficult conditions. Paul Thébault, an organic milk producer near Rennes, has for several years now found the answer: he relies on the mutual help of his relatives and neighbours to keep the farm running. A very […]

Categories
Cinema Mobilities

The cinema comes to the village

A truck on the outside, a movie theater on the inside. For over thirty years, the Cinémobile has been criss-crossing the roads of the very rural Centre-Val-de-Loire region to set up in the village centres for a day. There, a cinema unfolds before the delighted eyes of the inhabitants who have little access to this […]

Categories
Feminism

Maria Spiridonova and Juana Maria, two intrepid women

As part of a special issue of Causette on intrepid women, I wrote the portrait of two of them: Maria Spiridonova and Juana Maria. The first was a renowned Russian revolutionary at the beginning of the 20th century, the second was better known as “The Lone Woman of San Nicolas Island” for being the last […]

Categories
Sport

Refugies transform the trial

In Saint-Sébastien-sur-Loire, a new kind of rugby club was created in 2019. On the initiative of Benoît Lamigou, an oval ball enthusiast, the club is open to refugees from the Nantes region. Through the prism of this collective and friendly sport, newcomers to France find a way to integrate and forge valuable social ties. Cover […]

Categories
Agriculture Biodiversity

In Brittany, the jackdaw attracts the wrath of farmers

Every year in western Brittany, there are more and more jackdaws. This small opportunistic corvid with a grey back takes advantage of the region’s abundant resources, particularly corn, to feast on. Its happiness does not match that of the farmers, who have designated it as an enemy to be killed. Its proliferation, however, is intimately […]

Categories
Sexualité

A new quarantine sexual life

If, for some, the quarantine spent far from sexual partners initially created frustration, time has given way to discovery and a new form of eroticism. Let’s look back at these new experiences and what they can change at the time of the end of quarantine. Cover picture: Unsplash.

Categories
Agriculture Biodiversity

It doesn’t make the birds laugh

This is the 2018 figure: 33% of birds would have disappeared from agricultural areas in France in fifteen years. This is an alarming observation that professional and amateur ornithologists like to explore in greater depth each year during the sessions of the Temporal Monitoring of Common Birds (STOC) programme. Cover picture: Vincent Leloup.

Catégories
Féminisme

Le nüshu, le langage secret des femmes

Jusqu’en 2004, dans le district chinois de Jiangyong, un système d’écriture un peu particulier existait. Le nüshu – c’est son nom – avait en effet une particularité : il n’était appris et utilisé que par les femmes dans cette région du nord-ouest de Hong-Kong. Lettres d’amitié, lors du mariage… les usages multiples ont disparu avec […]

Catégories
Biodiversité

Silurus non grata

Il est immense, un peu effrayant et de plus en plus présent dans les rivières françaises. Le silure, un poisson d’eau douce originaire d’Asie, pouvant atteindre les 2,5 mètres, a été implanté en France dans les années 60. Une intégration qui, depuis, ne cesse d’interroger les chercheurs.euses et les pêcheurs.euses. Espèce opportuniste, capable de manger […]

Catégories
Abus sexuels Féminisme

Le forum l’Originale face à ses vieux démons

C’est un forum intimement lié à l’univers de YouTube et qui a disparu en 2018. L’Originale a été fondée par Thomas Hercouët, créateur de l’émission de pop culture les Nuits originales, en 2014. Il rassemblait des centaines de féru.e.s de l’émission, qui échangeaient sur des sujets de société allant de l’antiracisme au féminisme ou à […]

Catégories
Agriculture Mobilité Ruralité

Chez Paul, fini le chacun pour soi

Ils se devaient de rester actifs pendant le confinement mais la mission n’était pas une mince affaire. Les agriculteurs et agricultrices ont continué à travailler dans des conditions difficiles. Paul Thébault, producteur de lait bio près de Rennes, a, depuis plusieurs années, trouvé la parade : il compte sur l’entraide de ses proches et voisins […]

Catégories
Cinéma Mobilité

Le 7e art s’invite au village

Un camion de l’extérieur, une salle de cinéma à l’intérieur. Le Cinémobile sillonne depuis plus de trente ans les routes de la région Centre-Val-de-Loire, très rurale, pour s’installer sur la place des villages le temps d’une journée. Là, un cinéma se déploie sous les yeux ravis des habitant.e.s ayant peu accès à ce bien culturel. […]

Catégories
Féminisme

Maria Spiridonova et Juana Maria, deux femmes intrépides

Dans le cadre d’un Hors-Série de Causette sur les femmes intrépides, j’ai brossé le portrait de deux d’entre elles : Maria Spiridonova et Juana Maria. La première était une révolutionnaire russe de renom au début du XXe siècle, la seconde était plus connue sous le nom de “The Lone Woman of San Nicolas Island” pour […]

Catégories
Sport

Les réfugiés transforment l’essai

A Saint-Sébastien-sur-Loire, un club de rugby d’un nouveau genre a vu le jour en 2019. Sur l’initiative de Benoît Lamigou, passionné de ballon ovale, la formation est ouverte aux réfugiés de la région nantaise. Par le prisme de ce sport collectif et convivial, les arrivants en France trouvent un moyen de s’intégrer et de nouer […]

Catégories
Agriculture Biodiversité

En Bretagne, le choucas des tours s’attire les foudres des agriculteurs

Chaque année dans l’ouest breton, on dénombre de plus en plus de choucas des tours. Ce petit corvidé au dos gris, opportuniste, profite des ressources foisonnantes de la région, en particulier de maïs, pour se régaler. Son bonheur ne fait pas celui des agriculteurs, qui l’ont désigné comme ennemi à abattre. Sa prolifération, pourtant, est […]

Catégories
Sexualité

Une nouvelle sexualité confinée

Si, pour certains, le confinement éloigné des partenaires sexuels a d’abord créé une frustration, le temps a laissé la place à la découverte et une nouvelle forme d’érotisme. Retour sur ces nouvelles expériences et ce qu’elles peuvent changer à l’heure du déconfinement. Crédits photo couverture : Unsplash.

Catégories
Agriculture Biodiversité

Ça ne fait pas rire les oiseaux

C’est le chiffre de 2018 : 33% des oiseaux auraient disparu des surfaces agricoles en France en quinze ans. Un constat alarmant qu’ornithologues professionnels et amateurs se plaisent à approfondir chaque année lors des sessions du programme de Suivi Temporel des Oiseaux Communs (STOC). Crédits photo couverture : Vincent Leloup.